Please help me get to VONA 2017!

 

15167877_1476221518.8342

So, I decided to apply to the Voices of Our Nations Arts Foundation’s writing workshop this year. VONA is the only multi-genre week-long writing workshop geared specifically for writers of color in the entire nation.

To me, it is home. It is safety. It is familia.

I am an alum of 2014 and 2015. I worked with the fantastic Elmaz Abinader in her Political Content workshop for both of those years. I workshopped my fiction work and it was an awesome experience both times. I embraced new kin, had my work looked at with fresh eyes and critiqued for the craft. It really was a beautiful experience.

I wasn’t sure I was going to apply this year but at the encouragement of friends, family, and even my place of employment, I applied for the essay workshop with Kiese Laymon. Essay is the kind of writing I have been focusing on for 2017 and it has been such an emotional journey for me.

I didn’t think I would get in to this workshop, y’all. That’s the honest truth. Call it self-doubt. Call it fear. But I didn’t think I would.

But I did. I got in!

I got in and it is such an honor, a blessing, and a beautiful surprise to be accepted into VONA 2017. I am so excited to meet and work with other writers. I am so excited to work with Kiese Laymon and soak up all of his Jedi wisdom.

Here’s the thing, I need help paying tuition and lodging. With bills and rent and survival, getting $2000 together in a mere few weeks presents a problem for me. Tuition and lodging payment is due on JUNE 1st.

This is where, you, my community comes in.

You’ve been reading my work and supporting me with your beautiful words of encouragement. NOW, I HUMBLY ASK FOR YOUR $$HELP$$ TO IMPROVE ON MY CRAFT AND TO LEARN FROM ONE OF THE GREATS.

PLEASE DONATE TO MY GOFUNDME CAMPAIGN!

Here’s the link to my GoFundMe campaign.

ANYTHING COUNTS! $5 goes a looooooooong way, y’all!

www.gofundme.com/VONA2017Angelique

Thanking everyone who has donated so far and thanking everyone who has shared this link on all platforms of social media. You don’t realize how much it means to me to have my community in my corner!

 

3 thoughts on “Please help me get to VONA 2017!

  1. Brave! Brave sis… proud of you. I’m in a similar situation., but I’m dealing with mad shame about. Though as the days go by it’s not sooooo damn painful! My last essay was all about this…

    • Thank you, mama. I can’t erase your emotions but I urge you to ask for help…. it will blow you away when you see how much your community will support you! I can’t wait to hug you and be like…see? I told you we’re spirit-kin! ❤

      • Guuurl do you know Von boycel? Her mom is my union rep at work. She read my essay 17 and got to work and hooked me up with a nice cash donation to pay down VONA mujer! My girl yessnia (VONA 2015 and 2016) and my writing teacher put up my gofundme on their FB page. There is a part that just can’t bring myself to outright ask. I’m working on it. But I got a bit of money already… I cried from all the different emotions I felt!

Leave a Reply

